Paperglass (The War of Princes 2)

ARI 1;b Paperglass


After narrowly escaping the war-torn outside world with her life, Katelyn Kestrel vows to never again venture beyond the mountains of Haven Valley. But just as Katelyn begins to prepare for life after high school- a normal life with no warring princes, no dangerous magical abilities, and no handsome, duty-bound soldiers -the outside world comes crashing into her reality once again.

A team of explorers from Haven has been captured by Prince Raserion, the leader of the Western Kingdom. Only Katelyn, with her remarkable ability to find anything she looks for, can hunt the team down and bring them home And only Katelyn knows just how much trouble the explorers- and all of Haven -are in…

The princes have been searching for Haven and its people for seven hundred years. Like it or not, Katelyn must go back to the outside world and rescue the captives, or witness the destruction of everything she’s ever loved.


Page Count: 392
Published Date: January 5, 2016
Goodreads
Amazon

*this was previously known as Dragoon, published back in 2013*

*****STARS: 5!*****

Clutching the weapon with two hands, I leveled it at him. My fingers went suddenly limp. The pistol, pulled by gravity, escaped my fingers with ease and hit the ground with a heavy thump. I stumbled one step to the side.

He wasn’t Commander Kestrel at all. The person I’d thought would kill me was actually the one I loved most in the world.

“Rune.”

No!!! I can’t believe the things I learned in this book! Heart is breaking, but I’ll trudge through to get this spoiled review done.

The Simpsons bart simpson season 14 episode 14 crying

I absolutely love this because of the adventure it took me on, a fast-paced anticipation of cruelty, lost romance and suspense. Haven caught my attention with Katelyn’s journey into a world she had no idea existed. Her whole life, Haven was everything. I don’t think she even thought of a world beyond her own, at least not without help. To discover a secret door to the outer world, a place where war is brewing and people are forced to live in a cruel reality, must have been as exhilarating as it was frightening. Ivanovich really pulled me into her world of broken soldiers and crazed commanders, and when it was all done for Katelyn, I felt the finality of it more than I should’ve as a third person. It was that epic for me.

This was three years ago. Knowing what I know now, you can imagine my excitement in finally getting to read this. Don’t know for sure if I stopped reading the series because I couldn’t stand the thought of waiting for every book to come out, but they’re all out and now on my kindle. It’s time to read the series that raised my standards for fantasy and adventure.

adventure time jake the dog rubbing hands rubbing hands together

Paperglass takes place a year after Haven. Katelyn has just graduated, and although she’s tried to get back the peaceful life she had, it’s hard. Her friends, Ruby and Kyle, know of the ordeal she had last year and believe her, but she knows that their belief can only go so far without honest proof.

Feeling alone, horror strikes in the form of one of Haven’s citizens setting off a weather tower to crash. Nothing like that’s ever happened. Peace is all they know. Katelyn saves her two friends from the tower’s fall, but no good deed goes unpunished. Haven’s secret defense team recruits her, and whether she wants to or not, they push to send her out to retrieve a team they’d lost contact with.

The fact that the people of Haven know about the outer world is mind-blowing enough, but now she has to go back out there? She refuses, and she would’ve enjoyed the consequences, if not for one other secret revealed. Her mother is a part of that group.

Katelyn knows that no one else can leave Haven, not without the risk of more lodestones falling into the hands of one of the princes. Before anyone can stop her, she leaves alone for the adventure of her life, but what she finds may just be more than she bargained for.

I really liked that the series continued with the adventure aspect. It’s the main thing for me, so seeing Katelyn go through all the things she did was an icing on the cake. I liked that the whole thing was about her following the Pull, because it meant a random adventure with fate guiding them to wherever it felt like putting them. The plot, the sub-stories in between and the way she suffered through unresolved feelings with some people *cough* Dylan *cough* made her even more interesting to me. Her distrust was understandable, but at times, I couldn’t agree with her. I mean, he was given a hard choice, and the dude was tortured. Dylan may not have been perfect, but he wasn’t the bad guy she made him out to be.

Anyhow, she struggles with keeping it all together. I mean can you imagine? The love of her life is alive and somewhere in the active war, the best friend who back-stabbed her is once again a part of her life. Katelyn has to deal with these very emotional things but still keep her head on straight when she looks for her mother, all while maintaining her fabricated identity as a cold historian for the Prince of Shadows. I’m exhausted just thinking about it!

And yet despite all the things she has to do, I was still very much entertained. I skipped a few dialogues because they didn’t do it for me, especially when Rune was introduced once again. Who wants to read about petty business when my man is back???

(In case you don’t know me, I always reread what I skim. It’s just that I’m an impatient person and would rather get to the juicy bits that suffer through the pretty pleasantries)

When she searched for Paperglass, aka her mother, something wasn’t sitting right with me. I didn’t know the extent of the betrayal she’d soon face, but damn. What a low blow. I’m praying that it isn’t as it seems, because if what just happened is all true… ya’ll better prepare for a storm.

The writing style was pretty good, flowing and painting a picture in your head as you read. I liked the characters that took part in the story, though I feel her friends weren’t really participating so much as being there for moral support and making sense of the plot. Like Kyle healing? I’m glad they were there but in the end it was all Rune and Dylan. The ending was an epic one, but again, I’m a bit sad for Sterling, mostly because I didn’t get to be as invested in him as I feel I should have.

Overall it was a book worth reading. Action-packed with a completely new society, suspenseful and such a tease with the romance.

Happy Reading,

A Little Darling

Leave a Reply

