The Goddess Test (Goddess Test 1)

AC- 1;a The Goddess Test

Every girl who
had taken the test
has died.

Now it’s Kate’s turn.

It’s always been just Kate and her mom – and her mother is dying. Her last wish? To move back to her childhood home. So Kate’s going to start at a new school with no friends, no other family and the fear that her mother won’t live past the fall.

Then she meets Henry. Dark. Tortured. And mesmerizing. He claims to be Hades, god of the Underworld – and if she accepts his bargain, he’ll keep her mother alive while Kate tries to pass seven tests.

Kate is sure he’s crazy – until she sees him bring a girl back from the dead. Now saving her mother seems crazily possible. If she succeeds, she’ll become Henry’s future bride and a goddess.

If she fails...


Page Count: 304
Date Published: April 19, 2011

Goodreads
Amazon
B&N

****STARS: 3.5****


I absolutely adore Hades and Persephone, so anything about either of them is an instant must-read. This isn’t the first time I’ve read a story that pairs up Hades with another, but I thought it was an amazing concept just the same.

“Love you,” I murmured, wanting to hug her tightly but knowing her body couldn’t take it.

“I love you too, Kate,” she said softly. “I’ll be here in the morning, promise.”

As much as I wished it could be, I knew that was no longer a promise she would always be able to keep.

It was a fascinating read. Loved the concept of Hades needing to choose a replacement for Persephone or he’d lose his throne in the Underworld, and I loved the ‘small town’ setup. His people in the manor helped to keep the atmosphere, that of a different era to further separate Kate from the human realm.

The plot of her needing to pass seven tests deemed by the fourteen gods aka The Council added excitement and suspense, because they preferred to remain anonymous so the whole time you’re reading, you’re wondering who’s who. Not gonna lie, though, I immediately knew when Hephaestus arrived. It was hard not to lol.

Kate’s had a hard life taking care of her dying mother, wondering if today will be the last day. When she goes back to her mother’s childhood town, it means nothing to her. She had to grow up quickly, and though she’s matured, she’s also become quite bitter about life. Refuses to think about any ‘after’ and she won’t even talk to her mother about it. I really liked Kate’s strong attitude, but she was extremely… dense. About everything.

If there’s one thing I had to criticize it was how she could be so oblivious to what was going on. Her dying mother used to read her Greek god myths, and she can’t put the simple things together? You would think she’d at least remember some things from a time when life was easier. Don’t people usually do that? No? Okay.

Aside from her inability to figure out the things that I thought were obvious, it was also hard to take in the way she constantly treated Henry. The first half of the book, she kept blaming everything on him when she didn’t understand what was happening. She’s an eighteen-year-old only child taking care of her ill mother, I expected something a little more mature.

I loved the way they slowly came together. Henry’s unrequited love for Persephone and Kate’s refusal to believe in him and his world made for an intense read. I just love it when you see two characters slowly fall for the other. Although… I didn’t really get to see them fall in love. More like, it was a part of that paragraph that every book has to hurry the timeline along. I was a bit bummed about that bit. Henry’s a really aloof person, so it would have been nice to see more of him and what made him the god of the Underworld.

The ending was something I didn’t see coming until a few pages before, when it suddenly become obvious what was going on. I also enjoyed the meeting that determined whether Kate passed or failed Hades’ test. What I didn’t like were the tests themselves. I won’t list them all, but one of them was about testing her greed: she was given a new closet of outfits, and because she shared it with her friends, it proved that she wasn’t greedy.


??????????


She let her friends have it because nearly half the things were dresses, and all she wanted were the jeans and sweaters. If you’re going to test her on sins, why not test her on things she’d actually sin for? Isn’t that the definition of sin? Like her test on lust, for example. She failed, because she wanted to do it with Henry. The fact that these tests are nowhere near equal kinda scares me. It makes me feel like I should be thankful they weren’t so serious, or she’d probably fail it all.

Just kidding. I just really didn’t like how lame some of the tests were, because this story had so much potential to be a high Five-Star-Rating for me. And okay, there’s just one other little thing I’m really curious about. Why Hera? When I thought about all the goddesses who would’ve killed for Hades, I did not expect Hera. I like the unexpected, but I was more confused than wow’d at the end. Like… she’s the goddess of marriage and only wants Zeus. Now I get that you can change all the stories and every version is totally welcomed and admired, but- – I just don’t get this one. I mean if you’re going for the whole “I’m fed up with Zeus’ shit and now see devoted Hades in a new light” then I guess I could roll with it, but since there isn’t much of anything to really show why Hera loves Hades, it seems more weird than cool.


My favorite character of all however, is Ava.


In the beginning, Ava was portrayed as the stereotypical mean girl, but after her accident, she changed. Still selfish and a bit shallow, but she managed to give a shit about Ava, and that’s what I loved most. I absolutely applaud Carter for writing her the way she did, because she went through a lot of changes throughout the story and stood out to me the most.

All in all, The Goddess Test was a really interesting read with some off things about it. I liked the humor, the quirks, the subtle similarities between the known gods and their alter egos. If you’re into Hades, good for you you’re a great person this is a book you obviously must try. It’s rated young adult with an eighteen-year-old protagonist, set in a rather catching plot line full of suspense and fantastical adventure of the heart. More emotional than anything, seeing as you’re dealing with some pretty heavy stuff. A recommended read if you think you can deal with the problems I couldn’t.

Happy Reading,

A Little Darling

4 thoughts on “The Goddess Test (Goddess Test 1)

  1. Aldii says:

    Well, I must say that I read this like two years ago or maybe something less but it has been a loong time. I remember that I quite enjoyed the books but maybe reading it now I would have some problems, not sure though. I still have to read the short stories, not sure if I’ll ever get to them, but it was a good trilogy at the moment I read it.
    Nice to see other perspective of it!

    Like

    • kolewrites says:

      Oh Dios, how were the second and third book? I’m debating if I should read them… and don’t get me wrong, I probably would’ve liked it if I didn’t read so much, mainly because I have so much to compare other books to now.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Aldii says:

        Yes, I understand that’s why I think I read it at the right time. Being honest, I can’t remember a lot more than a few scenes. I gave the second book 4/5 and the third book 5/5 though, as I said in my comment, don’t trust those ratings because I read them a long time ago, not having a lot to compare to. My suggestion would be that if you don’t feel like reading the others then don’t do it

        Like

Leave a Reply

