ARC: Lost in Thought (The Sententia 1)

CB- 1;a Lost in ThoughtLainey Young has a secret: she’s going crazy.

Everyone else thinks she has severe migraines from stress and exhaustion. What she really has are visions of how people died- or are going to die. Not that she tells anyone that.

At age 16, she prefers keeping her crazy to herself. When doctors insist she needs a new and stable environment to recover, Lainey’s game to spend two years at a private New England boarding school. She doesn’t really think it will cure her problem, and she’s half right. There is no cure, but as she discovers, she’s not actually crazy.

Almost everyone at Northbrook Academy has a secret, too.

Half the students and nearly all the staff are members of the Sententia, a hidden society of the psychically gifted. A vision of another student’s impending death confirms Lainey is one of them. She’d like to return the crappy gift of divining deaths with only a touch, but enjoys spending time with Carter Penrose- recent Academy graduate and resident school crush -while learning to control it. Lainey’s finally getting comfortable with her ability, and with Carter, when they uncover her true Sententia heritage.

Now she has a real secret.

Once it’s spilled, she’ll be forced to forget protecting secrets and start protecting herself.



Page Count: 288
Published Date: April 25, 2014

Goodreads
Amazon

*received an ARC from Novel Publicity in exchange for an honest review*

****STARS: 4.5****

I was really surprised by this! Definitely not a book to treat like a fast-paced read, Lost in Thought introduced me to a secret society that made me want to know more and more… and that’s not including the cute guy that works at the bookstore.

Surprising me exceedingly, he said, “In the Bible, Rachel was a thief. What have you stolen lately, Lainey Rachel Young?”

Surprising myself even more, I said, “This,” and leaned over and kissed him light on the cheek.

So I am so glad that this is in my life right now, because it’s been a long while since I’ve come across any boarding school YAs. This got compared to Vampire Academy and Sweet Peril (didn’t really feel Spellbound) and of course if some of my favorite books are mentioned, I’m going to be interested!

Lainey was an interesting sixteen-year-old, dealt with hardship at an early age and well-rounded. She’s very mature, but it doesn’t dismiss the fact that she is, indeed, still a young teen. Circumstances certainly reminded me of that as the story progressed, and I liked the way the topic of ‘sex’ was handled, considering the age range for this is ages 12+ (seventh grade and up). I’ve got a sixth grader, and I can say I’d feel comfortable with her reading this for my modesty’s sake.

While mature, she still had new experiences to deal with, and one of them happens to be an older, mysterious boy who should be experiencing the fresh years of college instead of staying back at the school’s bookstore. Caleb was an interesting character that I could easily fall for as fast as the rest of the academy girls, and I liked the way their relationship was handled. So very different from what I’m used to reading.

The supporting characters, like her roommate Amy or her classmate Alexis, were all given enough depth to help me better understand their roles in all this. A few only existed for as long as they appeared on the page, but I suppose that isn’t too much of a hardship. The story itself was good.

Lengthy at times, I thought it was a good book considering that it’s mainly about introducing Lainey into their secret world. The ending left me on edge and pretty much everything I was teased with in here will be revealed in the next novel. *sighs* It’s a pretty good read with some funny moments. Definitely some heart-stopping ones, for the romantics out there. Overall a sweet young adult story with enough sexy grins and creepy background stories to keep you intrigued.


About the Author

Cara Bertrand is a former middle school literacy teacher who now lives in the woods outside Boston with: one awesome husband, two large dogs, one small daughter, and lots of words. LOST IN THOUGHT is her first novel and was one of three finalists for the Amazon/Penguin Breakthrough Novel Award in the Young Adult category.

Visit her:
www.carabertrand.com
Twitter


Happy Reading,

A Little Darling

2 thoughts on “ARC: Lost in Thought (The Sententia 1)

Leave a Reply

