Darkness and Light (War of the Fae 3)

EC- 1;c Darkness and Light


The animosity between Darkness and Light continues to grow, as do Jayne’s supernatural, elemental abilities in the Green Forest.

Long-lost friends arrive, new friends leave, passion burns, and mysteries abound. What is Light and what is Dark? Who can the Light Fae trust? Who will be left standing in the end and whose side will they be on?

Nothing is ever as it seems, and all is fair in love and War of the Fae.


Page Count: 350
Published Date: March 29, 2012

Goodreads
Amazon

*Content Warning: Mild violence and significant foul language within*
*Meant for older YA readers (age 15+)*


****STARS: 4****


 Things are getting pretty heated in this brewing war, but I don’t believe it’s the only thing about to boil over…

“No!” I yelled back, turning to face the old man. “I am not saying I’m going to break your stupid, antiquated, useless law! I’m telling you that if you don’t change this law, I’m outta here! You can take your stupid amulet,” I grabbed at the ring on my finger, pulling and tugging to get it off, “and shove it up your ass!”

Jayne’s as foul-mouthed as ever, and her charm hasn’t changed. I love that she can be so unruly despite the consequences; her attitude was one of the things that drew me to this story filled with ancient figures normally used to obedience and blind loyalty.

However, her way about going at things is beginning to annoy me. She does whatever she wants, and though I love a girl who just does things, she doesn’t seem to be doing them with a conscience thought. I’m used to MCs doing things because they feel in their heart it’s right, so they’ll use unconventional means to get things done. With Jayne? It’s like she lets her jaded attitude effect her actions and does half of the things in the book ‘just cause’, and I don’t like that personally because it effects a lot of the major events in this book. I don’t want things to come to pass just because she does something mindless.

Another thing that bugs me is the romance. It was hinted in the first book with a great amount of flirting, and though I enjoyed the switch in the last installment, I was still let down at the lack of chemistry. I understand that she’s still a young girl despite her vibrant, mature vocabulary, but I also understand that she’s been through a lot. I just didn’t think that she’d be the type of girl to crush on someone silently… Personally, the budding romance feels like it came from the left field, so I couldn’t get into it as much as I’d hoped.

This has been a pretty good series so far. It’s slowing down a little in terms of the big picture, and her lack of character development is a bit worrisome, but I was still entertained, and I enjoy the world set up.

Happy Reading,

A Little Darling

Leave a Reply

