ARC: The Angel of Death (The Soul Summoner 3)

EH- 1;c The Angel of Death


After stopping a serial killer and shutting down an interstate human trafficking ring, Sloan Jordan is ready for a break. But back at home in Asheville, her problems have only just begun.

The supernatural world has taken an interest in her, and stranger things are happening. Her powers are multiplying, she’s plagued by vivid nightmares, and a deranged young woman, babbling an unknown language, has been detained by police. The only cue to her identity – Sloan’s name carved into her arm.

If that wasn’t enough, the FBI has launched a full-scale investigation into her private life, believing Sloan might not be as innocent as she claims.

With her boyfriend, Warren Parish, deployed with the Marine Corps, Sloan’s only ally is Detective Nathan McNamara. Their friendship is already complicated, and its limits are about to be tested. Sloan has a secret… one that could turn even Nathan against her forever.


Page Count: 496
Published Date: July 31, 2016

Goodreads
Amazon

*received an ARC from the author in exchange for an honest review*
**bought my copy on release day because feels**
***WARNING: some sexy times with the funnies***

*****STARS: 5!*****

will smith church fresh prince of bel air overwhelmed crying

WHERE’S THE FOURTH BOOK, HYDER??? This was supposed to be one of the more emotional installments focusing on Sloan’s love life and all but shit, I can’t even get my head around what’s going to happen now.

My heart pounded in my chest. I knew somehow I’d slipped up and summoned Nathan McNamara, possibly to his death. Warren must have realized the same thing because we both bolted toward the door at the same time. My hand reached the knob first.

“Sloan, wait!” I heard Azrael shout upstairs.

But it was too late.

Sloan’s had a very big secret (you naughty girl) that she’s kept everyone in the dark with, but keeping it from the two men in her life might be one of the worse things she could’ve done, and no good deed goes unpunished.

movie sandra bullock throw the heat girlpower

Just kidding lol. Seriously though, it’s a pretty big thing to keep from the men who love her, and speaking of love- God! I knew she loved both of them, but I really thought it was Warren??? I mean she felt the universal connection with him when they first met! Why question it??? It just broke my heart, and reading this didn’t give me the usual good-feels-only type thing, because this time, some lines were crossed. Like, majorly crossed with a Sharpie. And some tanks. I don’t even know what I’m saying, the whole thing is just so complicated.

And once again, Hyder has done it. She changed things up in the first book with Sloan’s normal life being torn apart, and in the second book, it went from ‘finally I’m settled’ to ‘oh God what the fuck is this shit???’ (don’t look at me like that, you know it’s true) and now things have gone from the streets to the fancy pearl gate! If that doesn’t make sense, it’s okay, because all I’m really saying is that more angels are involved, more lives are at stake, and if someone doesn’t let Sloan have her coffee… blood will be spilled.

“You’re not dreaming.”

I pushed myself up out of my seat and stepped over him. “Oh, Azrael. I’d better be dreaming, or this world is in trouble.”

This book was so great, mainly because it deals with whatever their hearts have been forced to put on the back burner when the rest of the supernatural world couldn’t wait for Sloan’s attention. Now that she’s somewhat settled (you poor child) she can finally concentrate on what she wants, and what is best for everyone.

I really liked this book! All the characters were enjoyable, the story kept me high-strung on anxiety waiting to see what would happen next, and if Sloan wasn’t dealing with love, she was dealing with the bad guys who just wouldn’t give her a break. A little slow in the action department when I first got into it (though it definitely gets explosive in the end), but that’s okay, because we finally got to figure out just which way the love-triangle leaned. It’s probably why I felt so uncomfortable with this series for the first time in my life. The elephant was never acknowledged, and everything was kind of swept under the rug or ignored with good intentions. But now that Warren knows what he wants, he’s going to make Sloan choose: him… or Nathan?

Now slight spoiler here, and I apologize, but seriously. I didn’t understand the way she went about choosing.


MINOR SPOILER FOR A QUICK SECOND, K???


She’s with Warren, but she can’t help the magnetism she has with Nathan. And when she did things with him, I couldn’t figure out how she didn’t think of Warren, and how he’d feel about it. God knows she knows how she’d feel if he ever had the same problem! Sooo??? And when she chose… I just wasn’t convinced, and that makes me a very sad fan. With the other guy (my attempt not to spoil) she was all ‘yes’ with reasons but when she chose the other other guy, it was like… I don’t even know what. And that’s the problem. There was no clear decision with her, it was like she just did it because things were already set by the universe, and that’s so not cool. Again, I don’t know. Maybe I only feel this way because she didn’t have nearly enough screen time with Warren as she’s had with Nathan (all three books baby). Makes my head hurt trying to figure it out…


OKAY YOU’RE GOOD


Overall, this book blew me away. It started off with the feels between the three MCs and quickly turned into an awesome adventure that only the greatest of urban fantasies can provide. And provided it was. *shivers* It’s a definite recommend. This series had a love triangle but I was actually in love with it (until this book) but aside from that, I love the unique story behind Sloan and her relationship with the men. Writing style is great, the story flows, and it was pure entertainment all the way.


Join the giveaway! Enter to win $100 giftcard to a retailer of your choice!
(Amazon, Barnes & Noble, or iBooks)

>> Click Here <<


Happy Reading,

A Little Darling

2 thoughts on “ARC: The Angel of Death (The Soul Summoner 3)

Leave a Reply

