New World Order, Elle Casey

EC- 1;d New World Order


Will the fae be able to make the sacrifices they must to survive?

Jane Sparks and her Light Fae changeling friends face off in the final battle against their enemies. But the identity of their true enemies isn’t as clear as it once was. Are they the ones breaking down their doors… or perhaps another entity, hiding in the shadows?

Friends come and go, bridges burned are rebuilt, love is lost and found. The survival of the fae depends on the answer to one question:

Which burns hotter…
hatred or hope?


Page Count: 366
Published Date: April 27, 2012

Goodreads
Amazon

*Content Warning: Mild violence and significant foul language within*
*Meant for older YA readers (age 15+)*
*WARNING: minor spoilers*

***STARS: 3***

I’m really disappointed with the way things are going. I was so shocked by the ending, I ended up looking at the rest of the blurbs on the other installments and all I can say is… I won’t be rushing to continue this.

“Those were happy tears, right, Ben?” I asked in a voice choked with emotion. I knew he had seen them too.

“Yes, they were,” he replied, his own voice gruff, pulling me to him with his arm around my waist. “We’re going to be okay, Jayne. You’ll see. I’ll make sure of it,” he said.

What the hell happened??? I like being surprised but this was just weird for me. So let me be clear: I absolute loved the first book in this series, so much so that I use it as a comparison for other books when I go book-hunting. I even mention it as a good read for my other friends, something I rarely do because they’re such picky little beasties.

This? I don’t know what this was. The romance wasn’t romance, it was faint crushes between teens and lust. Whatever ‘romance’ was promised was not delivered to me because personally, I felt like Spike was used to lure me in with his sexiness and then surprise me with the other guys’ appeal. While I admit the appeal was grand, I didn’t get any chemistry between the characters. No buildup, no ‘so this is love?’ type spiel. If anything, it was almost like Jayne just thought about it and then decided to do it. Like what, now?

The plot hasn’t moved anywhere, but now that I write this out, I’m seriously wondering if the whole plot was discovering that the Light and Dark Fae aren’t as ‘good’ and ‘evil’ as Jayne thought they were. And I’m already annoyed with the way she thinks so black and white, but I gave her the benefit of the doubt, blaming her young age for the ignorance of truly believing that people could be labeled like such just because of what someone says. You see, she came off to me in the first book as an outcast who understood misjudgment and unfairness, so when all these major things are happening, I really thought she’d step up. Instead of that, I got a jaded girl who swears a lot and is actually a bit… bitchy.

Her sadism towards the others in this series was hilarious and I still love it to this second, but her actions continue to seem mindless and it is turning me off very quickly. She just seems all over the place, and it’s been four books already. When will she grow up?

And speaking of characters, I was a bit bummed at the way they were handled. They didn’t really seem as solid as they were in the first book. They’ve been reduced to two-dimensional helpers for Jayne and it’s been like this for about two books now. I’d hoped that this would change by now.

Overall, this was just a bad experience for me, and I wish I’d stopped at the first second book. The prices weren’t worth it, and instead of being lead on a great adventure, I got dropped off at a random corner with some pretty street lights but a lot of bad pavement. Still, I like to keep an open mind and try to see things in a better light. I wouldn’t recommend this to my friends, but if you’re new to the reading scene or really enjoy fae stories, try this out. Jayne’s sort of unconventional, but it’s what personally drew me to her. I just sincerely wish she’d bettered herself.

Happy Reading,

A Little Darling

Leave a Reply

