The Pact

It all staKH- 2;a The Pactrted with a pinky swear…

Linden McGregor is tall, rugged, and gunslinger handsome; a helicopter pilot with a Scottish brogue and charm to spare. He’s also one of Stephanie Robson’s best friends and has fit into that box for as long as she’s known him.

But some relationships can’t be boxed,
can’t be classified,
can’t be tamed.

Back in their mid-twenties and tired of the competitive hit-or-miss dating scene of San Francisco, Steph and Linden made a pact to marry each other if neither one of them are in a serious relationship by the time they hit thirty.

It sounds like fun and games but as the years to thirty tick past and lovers come and go out of their lives, the pact becomes larger than life.

Sex is inevitable.
Friendships are tested.
Hearts are on the line.

The pact is about to change everything.


Page Count: 379
Published Date: December 27, 2014

Goodreads
Amazon
*RATED 18+ ON AMAZON DUE TO LANGUAGE AND SEXUAL INTERACTIONS. READER DISCRETION ADVISED*

*****STARS: 5!*****

“I think I’m losing myself. Every time I’m inside you, with you, I think I lose a little bit more.”

OH. MY. GOOOOOOOD. You know what this reminds me of? Samantha Young’s On Dublin Street with the whole rearrangement-type romance and the sleek way everything’s done (and of course there’s the sexy Scottish lad) but like don’t get me wrong, this had its own voice. It just also happened to remind me of one of my all-time fucking favorites.

love reactions harry potter crush sigh

I love Steph’s voice. She’s edgy and hilarious, whether she means to be or not, sincere, adorable and just downright sexy in her genuinity with Linden. I adore their relationship and how close they were able to become despite the sexual tension from either side. One of the best romances stem from two opposite forces choosing to coexist together in peace… until someone gets dared to kiss someone else.

GASP! That’s right, but I’m not telling you anything about it. Except that it was mind-blowing and juicy and hooooly shit but a lot of things went down. Anyway, back to what I was saying. I fucking love this. Linden’s a manwhore but he’s also struggling to choose what his heart wants and what he thinks he should want. Steph’s driven and has her own faults just like he does, but all of it was done so well, I thought. Not once did I ever hate them or dislike whatever they did.

“In the end you might have all my pieces. Please be gentle with them.”

I wasn’t sure how this was going to be told since it was a story spanning over five years, but I liked the way it was done. I especially loved the way they came together, how it all went from easy and safe to complicated and exciting and just plain right naughty. I got about as many toe curls as I did laughs. If it wasn’t Steph’s inner monologues making me giggle, it was Linden’s dry humor and the way he just seemed so… hunky. Okay, I’m a sucker for Scotsmen too but that can’t be too much of a biased thing, right? Right?

love happy reactions smiling i love you

Despite all the laughter and sexy times, there was also a lot of deep heart ache mixed in it. Secrets of unrequited love, family problems, relationship problems… it never ended. And I loved every moment of it. It was all so perfect and PERFECT-

His breath hitches and it’s almost like I can see a world crumbling behind his eyes. But I don’t care. I have my own ruins now to deal with.

And then Linden had to go and fuck it up.

Now you won’t get my mini rant if you didn’t read the book already, but this is where I had my mini EUREKA! moment. On one hand I was devastated by this turnabout, but at the same time, as I continued reading, I started to understand why it happened. Mind you, I didn’t really GET it in the beginning but with the flow of things, I soon got the message it was trying to convey.

sigh boy meets world mr feeny william daniels george feeny

The writing was great, flowing through my mind like a film projector for readers. Just amazing. I’m a huge fan of Halle, so I’m not all that surprised that I loved this thing to death, but I am surprised at how something so unique made me feel like I was reading several other all-times favorites. It’s a definite recommended read if you love your love slow, your guys crude and hot and secretly vulnerable, and your humor as dry as your knickers will be wet.

Happy Reading,

A Little Darling

 

Leave a Reply

