ARC: Labyrinth Lost (Brooklyn Brujas 1)

ZC- 1;a Labyrinth LostNothing says Happy Birthday like summoning the spirits of your dead relatives.

I fall to my knees. Shattered glass, melted candies and the outline of scorched feathers are all that surround me. Every single person who was in my house- my entire family -is gone.

Alex is a bruja, the most powerful witch in a generation… and she hates magic. At her Deathday celebration, Alex performs a spell to rid herself of her power. But it backfires. Her whole family vanishes into thin air, leaving her alone with Nova, a brujo boy she can’t trust. A boy whose intentions are as dark as the strange markings on his skin.

The only way to get her family back is to travel with Nova to Los Lagos, a land in-between, as dark as Limbo and as strange as Wonderland…


Page Count: 336
Published Date: September 6, 2016

Goodreads
Amazon

*gifted a copy from SourceBooks Fire via NetGalley*

*****STARS: 5!*****

“The dead don’t like to be kept waiting.”

I really, really liked this! My first time reading with an entire cast dedicated to Latin American heritage and mythology, Alex and her family introduce the magical world of brujas – witches.

I thought this was one of the greatest YA reads I could name at the top of my hat because of the life lesson Alex goes through. Her selfish act of casting aside the very thing that specially bound her and generations of her family all together resulted in her paying for the consequences, to go down to the very bowels of Los Lagos herself and fight for what she once tried so hard to get away from.

The insertion of Latin American myths was great because of all the new Deos I read about, and how fun is it to read a book mixed with phrases and names from another language? It’s freaking awesome is what it is. And I absolutely loved seeing the bruja side of life, and being told all these magical things that a normal witch wouldn’t know. I did especially love the personal thing the author made up. Deathday. 🙂 Very cool.

All brujas are witches, but not all witches are brujas.

It enriched the reading experience for me, and if I was wasn’t learning about stories like La Vieja Tollussa or myths like the Duende, I was watching Alex learn about the things that truly matter, like family. Or the power of fear.

I won’t lie, I was very annoyed with Alex in her selfishness and lack of understanding before doing anything, but she’s young, and her issue isn’t an everyday thing you struggle with. If anything, I’m actually really grateful for all the ways this book made me feel, because she learned from her mistake, and it made her a more appreciative person for it. This book really does give you the whole spectrum of feels.

Labyrinth Lost is a definite recommend. The MC is amazing in her journey, as is her companion Nova, who is another complex character that kept me on my toes. Rishi, her best friend, was a lightening addition full of positivity and moral support. The imagination and writing style was great, the cover is just beautiful… Just overall, a very entertaining read.

Happy Reading,

A Little Darling

Leave a Reply

