Captive (Beautiful Monsters Vol. 1)

JL- 1;a CaptiveMatthew Callahan has spent seven years struggling against the insatiable hunger for blood consuming him. Unable to stop the vampire inside from preying on humans, he keeps himself confined to a lonely existence.

Everything changes the night he is lured into a trap and taken prisoner by High Lord General Tarrick – a seductive incubus who feeds off sexual energy.

Forced into the middle of a war between vampires and incubi, Matthew is used as a weapon against his own kind. Although he’s desperate for freedom, he is unable to deny the burning desire drawing him to the incubus general he now calls Master.



Page Count: 314
Published Date: August 5, 2016

Goodreads
Amazon

*received a copy via InstaFreebie in exchange for an honest review*
**bought my own copy it was so good**
***WARNING: this book is intended for mature audiences***


*****STARS: 5!*****

“You don’t worship… you know, God?”

“I assume you mean the Jewish and Christian god. No. But I do love feeding on his servants. I enjoy the sin. The conflict inside of them is delicious,” Tarrick said, still watching the statue.

“You seduce priests?”

Tarrick flashed a devious smile at him.

This was so fucking good. I admit that I judged the book by its cover and didn’t think it’d have such a sarcastic MC, but it did, and I am so blown away by this that I can’t even tell you how disturbingly beautiful it was. Beautiful Monsters is certainly right.

Matthew’s a captive among the incubi, and only now is learning about the war between them and his new kind. His struggle to make them see that he can be one of them was amazing, and I enjoyed his relationship with Tarrick. It wasn’t a typical, sweet romance. They both knew the attraction was there, but they were still enemies. I fucking loved how intense and violent they were when things got out of hand, bit could still feel something tender once their monsters were content. But my absolute favorite part of this whole thing was how it kept me questioning everything I knew. Did Tarrick really love him like I assumed he did? Did Matthew really belong with the incubi? Was he really free under Tarrick’s care? It was so different and interesting, I immediately bought my own copy.

I really wish the second book was out already, but I am elated to announce that Vol. 2 will be out in October *squeals* The writing style flowed and- hell, it was just so epic.

BET Awards prince speechless bet awards 2010

I can’t even put into words how I feel and I don’t mean to sound like a parrot, but shit. This was too good. Lane created a wonderful, dark, disturbingly tempting story revolving around myths and legends. The incubi and vampires certainly aren’t romanticized in this, and yet it’s still there, between the pages, like a delicious secret ingredient that I just can’t put my finger on. October can’t come any faster.

Happy Reading,

A Little Darling


14680744_1094892083942194_1464257914702691127_n

2 thoughts on “Captive (Beautiful Monsters Vol. 1)

Leave a Reply

