The Offer

KH- 2;b The OfferShe thinks he’s an arrogant playboy.
He thinks she’s an uptight prude.
But he’s about to make her an offer she can’t refuse.

Nicola Price used to have it all – a great career, the perfect boyfriend, an excessive shoe collection and an apartment in one of San Francisco’s best neighborhoods. But when she gets knocked up and her asshat boyfriend leaves her high and dry, Nicola’s perfectly crafted world comes tumbling down. And stays that way.

Now, Nicola is the proud single mom to a five-year-old daughter and living a giant lie. She can barely afford their ghetto apartment and all the men she dates run when they hear she comes with a child. She’s struggling and scared – and nowhere near where she thought she’d be at age thirty-one.

Her saving grace comes in the form of a tall, handsome and wealthy Scotsman Bram McGregor, the older brother of her friend Linden. Bram understands a thing or two about pride, so when tragic circumstances place Nicola at rock bottom, he offers them a place to live in the apartment complex he owns. It’s pretty much the perfect deal, so as long as she doesn’t mind living beside Bram, a man that, despite his generosity, seems to antagonize her at every turn.

But nothing in life is free and as Nicola gets her feets back on the ground, she discovers that the enigmatic playboy may end up costing her more than she thought.

She might just lose her heart.

Those McGregor brothers are nothing but trouble.


Genre: Romantic Comedy
Page Count: 359
Published Date: June 13, 2015

Goodreads
Amazon

*STANDALONE*
*RATED 18+ for explicit sexual situations and language. Reader discretion advised*

*****STARS: 4.9*****

Okay, this book was totally cute and hot and exhilarating and it covers a single mom whose dream job is a career in what she’s passionate about.

For the first time in a long time, I wouldn’t mind losing my heart. Just as long as I can get it back. When you’re a teenager and you fall in love, you think you’ll never move on once it’s been lost. But you always gain it back, you always fall for someone else. No boy holds it for too long. Your young heart is a wild, elastic thing. Now, I fear that age and time and experience stretches it too hard, too far, and it will never snap back.

I was excited to read this because it dealt with a single mum and a playboy. Something new for me, most definitely, since it’s not just her feelings Nicola has to deal with, but another little life, as well. Her existence pretty much revolves around her daughter, now, and it’s in this book that the lovable Scottish manwhore comes to remind her just how fun she still is.

I liked this a lot! The hook line went right for the feels and drew me in, and after chapters of grudges and regret, things then turned into something more sincere. And adorable. And, dare I say… sweet? Nicola and Bram are both prideful little fuckers who’d rather suffer than ask for help. I can understand that they’d want to do it all themselves, and if you have the ability to do so, I don’t really see a bad thing about it. But when it effects another’s life, particularly your small child’s, then that’s when you need to push your pride aside and start accepting the things life hands you.

“If you find a man who looks at you like you’re magic, you hold on to them.”

Like the chance to live rent-free next to the guy you hate to lust after.

Her reluctance towards him was comical, especially when it was an obvious losing battle because of certain circumstances. I adored her little girl and the way she threaded them together. It sweetened the story and made it tender where the adults made it hot and wild and a total thrill.

The reason for the -.1 is because despite the new topic at hand, it still read a lot like The Pact in terms of layout: life issues, love, stupid mistake, near tragedy strike, realization that the love is still alive, eventual forgiveness. I didn’t get that when I was reading it at first, but around the time things started to go really well for her, I started to get the pattern. Usually that kind of thing doesn’t bother me because if I like it, there’s really no reason why I shouldn’t like it in a different lighting, but I think it’s because this author writes things so well that I was expecting everything to be different. I mean, they’re stand-alones, but do they really need to repeat the same thing? Then again it’s just the second novel so it’s too early to assume anything just yet.

Nonetheless, this was a great read and a definite recommend. I loved how surprised I got when one character or another would snipe with a level of sarcasm you can’t help but appreciate. This standalone was hot- hotter, I think, because of the type of people involved, and another thing I enjoyed was seeing the characters I adored from The Pact in a different light. It always disturbs and intrigues me to see people from another’s perspective. God knows I don’t think about it enough in my own life.

Happy Reading,

A Little Darling

Leave a Reply

