The Winner’s Curse (The Winner’s Trilogy 1)

16069030Winning what you want may cost you everything you love…

As a general’s daughter in a vast empire that revels in war and enslaves those it conquers, seventeen-year-old Kestrel has two choices: she can join the military or get married. But Kestrel has other intentions.

One day, she is startled to find a kindred spirit in a young slave up for auction. Arin’s eyes seem to defy everything and everyone. Following her instinct, Kestrel buys him – with unexpected consequences. It’s not long before she has to hide her growing love for Arin.

But he, too, has a secret, and Kestrel quickly learns that the price she paid for a fellow human is much higher than she ever could have imagined.

Set in a richly imagined new world, The Winner’s Curse by Marie Rutkoski is a story of deadly games where everything is at stake, and the gamble is whether you will keep your head or lose your heart.


Page Count: 384
Published Date: March 3, 2015

Goodreads
Amazon


*****STARS: 5*****

WOW I did not expect to like this as much as I did.

“Kestrel, the god of lies must love you!”

First off, a huge thank you to SmileyBookLover for introducing this book into my life. Your great review on this made me want to read it for myself.

Proud to say it was a paperback I actually read and not an eBook, and so far my luck with paperbacks has been cruel, which is why my expectation for this wasn’t too high. I honestly didn’t know what to expect with this book, and it certainly wasn’t the romance.

You are the god of lies.”

I’m a sucker for hate-first-love-later. The build up of Arin and Kestrel’s relationship was suspenseful and kept pace with the rest of the goings-on in the book. The plot was a bit obvious but subtle in a way that it didn’t ruin the current topic spotlighted.  What did surprise me was the lengths to which either would go to, all to ensure their people’s safety and overall freedom.

“I see things quite clearly.”

“You don’t… You don’t, Kestrel, even though the god of lies loves you.”

I won’t spoil anything this time (though I may rant about it in another post who knows), but I must say that it’s a definite recommended read. Rutkoski knows how to write a beautiful story with characters that keep you on a hook. I adored Arin’s story and how much Kestrel struggled to maintain her independence against society’s expectations. This book could get so deep but still keep me floating on the surface, making sure I don’t drown too much. I liked that. It made reading easier, though I did still have to put it down to cry. Yup, definitely something you must read.

Happy Reading,

A Little Darling

Leave a Reply

