Guest Post (pt. 2) with Cara Bertrand

luminis facebook banner (2) [404875]


Synopsis


CB- 1;c Tangled ThoughtsHigh school graduation is a time for goodbyes, new beginnings, and if you’re Lainey Young, narrowly escaping with your life.

Forced to leave behind both Northbrook Academy and Carter Penrose, Lainey believes she’s earned her freedom- from the eyes of the Perceptum and Daniel Astor’s schemes. Meeting handsome and very persistent Teaching Assistant Jack Kensington the first week of college complicates everything, including her feelings.

College and flirtatious with Jack help Lainey put all things Sententia behind her. But when her aunt arrives for a visit, with an unexpected guest and even more unexpected news, Lainey’s tenuous control over her life snaps. Once again, she’s linked to everything she thought she left behind. And this time, there’s no escape.

Growing up, Carter Penrose thought he knew a thing or two about heartbreak- namely that it sucks -but he never knew exactly how much until losing Lainey. His life moves in a totally unplanned direction and he finds himself with a new home, new job, and even a surprising new girlfriend, all thanks to Daniel Astor. But just when Carter feels settled in the DC world of politics, a visit home to Northbrook brings up unexpected questions– about what happened at graduation and everything he believed about his Uncle Dan.

When tragedy brings Lainey and Carter face to face for the first time since summer, their lives have never felt more separated. Lies drove them apart.

Will the truth bring them together?


TANGLED THOUGHTS PLAYLIST

By Cara Bertrand

My only ‘rule’ for background sounds when I’m writing is they have to be so familiar they disappear – I hear them without really listening to them. With my first new novels, I’d put a favorite album on repeat or play an instrumental soundtrack. Much of the time while I wrote Second Thoughts, I craved silence. I couldn’t listen to music at all!

For the first time when writing Tangled Thoughts, I put together a dedicated playlist that matched the story and never failed to put me into the right mindset when I sat down to work. I listened to this play list a lot! Amazingly, I still love it, and the songs still take me straight to the emotions I needed to harness to write this novel.

Spoiler alert:
if you haven’t read Second Thoughts, the playlist pretty well gives away what happens!

Notes: In general, I prefer acoustic or live music. Sometimes when an original song matches the story but not the feel of what I want to listen to, I’ll seek out an acoustic cover.

Happy Reading, and Happy Listening!

If you have a Spotify account, you can listen to the playlist here!

Note: they don’t have Taylor Swift, so I substituted another acoustic cover in this list
Leave a Reply

