Excerpt: Tangled Thoughts

CB- 1;c Tangled Thoughts

Title: Tangled Thoughts
Author: Cara Bertrand
Genre: New Adult & College Romance
Published Date: April 1, 2016
Publisher: Luminis Books, Inc.

Hosted by: Novel Publicity


Synopsis


High school graduation is a time for goodbyes, new beginnings, and if you’re Lainey Young, narrowly escaping with your life.

Forced to leave behind both Northbrook Academy and Carter Penrose, Lainey believes she’s earned her freedom- from the eyes of the Perceptum and Daniel Astor’s schemes. Meeting handsome and very persistent Teaching Assistant Jack Kensington the first week of college complicates everything, including her feelings.

College and flirtatious with Jack help Lainey put all things Sententia behind her. But when her aunt arrives for a visit, with an unexpected guest and even more unexpected news, Lainey’s tenuous control over her life snaps. Once again, she’s linked to everything she thought she left behind. And this time, there’s no escape.

Growing up, Carter Penrose thought he knew a thing or two about heartbreak- namely that it sucks -but he never knew exactly how much until losing Lainey. His life moves in a totally unplanned direction and he finds himself with a new home, new job, and even a surprising new girlfriend, all thanks to Daniel Astor. But just when Carter feels settled in the DC world of politics, a visit home to Northbrook brings up unexpected questions– about what happened at graduation and everything he believed about his Uncle Dan.

When tragedy brings Lainey and Carter face to face for the first time since summer, their lives have never felt more separated. Lies drove them apart.

Will the truth bring them together?


Excerpt


Chapter 1

“Welcome, latecomer,” called the TA, whose back was to the door as he finished scrawling an office location and time below the name J. Kensington on the white board.

“Sor-” I started, and then the TA turned around. I half choked and had to start again. “Sorry.”

J. Kensington was hot.

“Not a problem.” He met my eyes and smiled. Blushing like a stupid freshman, I fumbled for my pen. “But try not to make it a habit. The sooner we start, the sooner we get done. Elaine, right? You’re the last one on my list.”

“Yes,” I squeaked and cleared my throat. “But I prefer Lainey. And sorry. Again. I’m not usually late, I swear.” I smoothed my hands across my notebook. I was literally the only student in the room without a laptop or something in front of me, as if the pen and paper were a set of my beloved antiques.

“Not a problem,” he repeated, handing a piece of paper to the student closest to him. “Pass this back to Lainey, if you would. As I was saying, I’m Jack. Please don’t call me Mr. Kensington, ever. My info is everywhere – on the board, on that paper, and online. Believe it or not, I want to see you at office hours. Business relationships are developed in person…”

I was trying to listen, I really was, but J. Kensington- Jack -was distractingly attractive. TAs were supposed to look like… I wasn’t sure, but not like Jack: maybe six feet tall, medium-length dark hair styled just the right side of messy, brown eyes meant for staring at, and a dimple that came out whenever he lifted one corner of his full mouth. He’d rolled up the sleeves of his slim button-down and wore a quirky tie that, paired with the dimple, made him basically adorable. I assumed he’d come to discussion straight from a GQ photo-shoot of Future Business Leader of America. I couldn’t quite figure out if the letters running across his tie spelled something-

I dropped my pen when my neighbor touched my elbow at the same time Jack said, “It says, ‘Do not read this. Violators will be prosecuted.'” Once again, the entire group was looking at me. And laughing. Shit. It was just not my day.



Ger your copy now:

Amazon


Leave a Reply

