Compete, Vera Nazarian

VN- 1;b CompeteIt’s one thing to Qualify…
But do you have what it takes to Compete?

With Earth about to be destroyed by an extinction level asteroid, teenage nerd, geek, and awkward smart girl Gwen Lark, and a few of her friends and loved ones, barely Qualified for rescue on board one of the thousands of ark-ships headed to the ancient colony planet Atlantis.

Now faced with a year-long journey in space, life in a wondrously alien environment, and many tough life choices, Gwen must decide who or what she will become. Fleet Cadet or Civilian? Friend or lover? Average or extraordinary?

Can she make new friends? Can she trust the old ones, such as Logan Sangre, her sexy high school crush and an Earth special operative?

Time and time again, Gwen’s uncanny ability to come up with the best answer in a crisis saves her life and others. And now, her unique Logos voice makes her an extremely valuable commodity to the Atlanteans — so much so that her enigmatic commanding officer Aeson Kassiopei, who is also the Imperial Prince of Atlantis, has taken an increasingly personal interest in her.

Before the end of the journey, Gwen must convince him that she has what it takes to compete in the deadly Games of the Atlantis Grail.

It’s becoming apparent — the life of her family and all of Earth depends on it.


Genre: Young Adult Science Fiction & Fantasy
Title: Compete
Series: The Atlantis Grail #2
Author: Vera Nazarian

Source: Amazon
Pages: 530
Date: August 13, 2015
Rating: 3.7/5

Goodreads
Amazon


Well alrightie then!

“I think, language gives you the ability to become someone else,” I say. “When you speak, you are no longer you, but a vessel for the thing that must be expressed, the meaning.”

I absolutely loved the first book and the competing streak for survival; the multiple and vigorous tests are what drew me to this series in the first place, if not the idea of Atlanteans being aliens who turn into our rescuers. This installment mostly revolved around their year in space as they shoot over to Atlantis. There are about two races in this, and it’s the most you’ll ever get.

Gwen’s POV was something to get used to, because she had a very young mind that wasn’t as sharp as her intelligence was made to be, making me wonder if she was just extremely dense about things. However, I very much liked her head-strong attitude and need to act first and think later.

Writing wise, a lot of things were too much. I kept thinking that a good trimming would’ve done wonders to the pages, because it was overwhelming to have both her run-on thoughts and an excessive amount of detail. Some things weren’t needed to be repeated, and I personally thought that some paragraphs didn’t add to the story. There were times when I skimmed pages and still got the main parts and good stuff. That’s never a good thing lol…

I absolutely loved that I still got to see her in action, but there isn’t much she can really do on the ship, aside from learning about the new world. In a way, this was almost like a filler, something to pass the time before they got down to the main event on Atlantis, but not exactly. Like, it felt filler-ish but at the same time, it also seemed like an emotional installment for Gwen and her ‘love interest’. While she does a lot of recon and relaxation (well as much as one can relax in that environment) she also reflects on things she never got to fully look into while in survival mode. So in the end, I guess this really was more of a reflection state for Gwen than anything. Huh. The ending was surprising, a complete change of pace and setting (LOVE when this happens) and yes, it’s a cliffhanger.

Despite all the skimming, mild criticizing and complaining I did, I still felt I got my money’s worth. I’m glad I didn’t stop at book one, because this world is incredible and I really need to see her compete in the Atlantis Grail tournament now.


SPOILER- I NEED TO RANT RIGHT NOW -SPOILER


Okay so real quick. I love love love the chemistry between Gwen and Kass, but I absolutely could not stand Logan. He came off as creepy, pushy and a jerk and yet she had no inkling of his hidden intentions and such. A bit disappointed, honestly. But I’m gonna blame it on being young and inexperienced. But yeah, I disliked him in book one and it drove me mad to see him with her in this installment. I’m glad he finally dumped her for panting over Kass because she really needed to be told about the feelings she was too dense to see for herself. The best thing he could have ever done for her.


OKAY YOU’RE COOL


In the end, an almost 4-star is what I rate this and I definitely recommend that people start getting into this series. It’s like the Hunger Games but with Atlanteans as the aliens, all dressed up in Egyptian influenced fashion with a rich culture that revolves around one’s vocal chords. I mean, a culture of singing and beauty that are about as lethal as the weapons they harvest? Hell yeah.

Happy Reading,

A Little Darling

Leave a Reply

