I Was a Bitch by Emily Ruben

emily-ruben-i-was-a-bitchWhat if you woke up having forgotten the last two years of your life?

After a horrible accident, Lacey Jones wakes up from a two month long coma only to realize that she’s lost all memory of the last two years. In this time, she has turned from a wallflower into a gorgeous and popular Queen Bee of her high school.

Adding to the confusion, she is confronted with two guys who claim to love her: her football star boyfriend and the mysterious and attractive Finn.

She decides to keep the secret of her memory loss until she can figure out what happened in these two years she lost, trusting only the mysterious and sexy Finn to help her, but will she continue being that bitch or will she decide to rewrite her story?


Genre: Young Adult, Social & Family Issues
Title: I Was A Bitch
Author: Emily Ruben
Publisher: Inkitt

Source: Inkitt
Pages: 521
Date: 10.10.16
Rate: 3/5

Goodreads
Amazon

Dear Reader,

Lacey wakes up from a two-month coma with nothing to remember of the last two years. Instead of the popular senior, she’s a confused 16-year-old who’s dying to know why she’s hot, why her new friends are hot, and why she’s got two hot guys vying for her like they’re more than close.

Now mind you, when I was young, I would have freaked out like she did. But again, when I was young, I would not have exactly done what she did. I tried putting myself in a younger set of shoes to better enjoy this, but I couldn’t, because instead of the desired effect, I ended up getting weirded out by Lacey’s relationship with two guys she didn’t know. Like I didn’t get it – she doesn’t feel anything with the guy claiming to be her boyfriend, but she’ll act on the physical attraction? And then she’ll feel all things with Finn, the mysterious guy who has no official status in her ‘then’ life, but she’ll question all sorts of things with-? What? I don’t even know myself, I’m so confused! 

So this centers around a teenager with low self-esteem, wondering how she got the popular life. I’ll admit, I wasn’t expecting this to sound so… young. On one hand I like it because it matches the whole situation, but on a personal note, I couldn’t enjoy it. Lacey sounded too young to click with, and her monologues were long. If I’d been able to click with her, this would be a different story. It was obvious that everyone was horrible and fake in her life, so seeing her take so long to confirm what jerks they were was really hard. I honestly felt like that one person in the audience who yells at the girl to not go in the room.

A few were redeemable, and they all added to the drama which was great, but it was still a hard pill to swallow. If the mystery weren’t so enticing, it would have taken me forever to get through this. Finn was cool, but God, everything was obvious. I started to wonder if maybe things were too good, or too convenient. The ending was an almost shocker, but it kind of kept to the age appropriateness of it all. Boo. Just kidding.

This isn’t that bad of a book. It’s got teenage angst written all over it with long chapters of the gushy stuff. If you’re into that, you’ll like this a lot. If you don’t like the teen voice, I suggest you skip it, if only to save you a few hundred pages of frustration. I liked the detective work Lacey went through, albeit tedious, but her time with Finn nearly made up for it. I really liked the flashback in the end. But the positivity speech in the cafeteria? God, no. It felt like a cut-and-paste from the end of a Lifetime movie. Honestly, the inner teen in me wouldn’t know what group of kids would actually do that, okay? Call me a bitch or judgmental, whatever. In the theme of this book: “That was seriously cringe.”

Overall, I say I wouldn’t reread it, but would recommend it to a younger mind who enjoys the ignorance and drama of youth. I like my YA’s, but even I have hard limits when it comes to certain personalities and characters.

Happy Reading,

A Little Darling

Leave a Reply

