Killmore by Martha Sweeney

ms-killmoreYou know how they say the enemy of your enemy is your friend? Well, I’m still determining if there’s any truth to that statement.

I was used by the Feds to report on the dealings of Antonio Herrera–the major Mexican crime lord since his uncle passed, leaving everything to Antonio. I knew everything about Antonio’s business. How, you ask? I was the only woman he kept close, really close–he claimed he loved me. You get to see and hear a lot of interesting things when you hold that kind of status.

Now, the Feds have me in what they claim is witness protection. However, I never feel safe knowing he’s out there. My family thinks I’m dead. All the while, I keep to myself, avoid most people in my new hometown and train rigorously everyday–waiting for the time when the devil comes calling for his debt to be paid.

***
This is the first book in a two-book series.
This book should be read prior to the second book
***


Genre: Romantic Suspense
Title: Killmore
Series: Killmore #1
Author: Martha Sweeney
Publisher: WWN Publishing Group

Source: ARC via author
Pages: 334
Date: 11.15.16
Rating: 3/5

Goodreads
Amazon

Dear Reader,

I have mixed feelings about this one. Now I won’t spoil anything major for you, but I will talk about why I didn’t click with the story. I’ll try to make it nice and brief, yeah?

Laurie was a scary bitch who could laugh and then slit your throat if she thought you were a threat to her life. After all the shit she’s been through, I wouldn’t blame the bitch. Hell, I’d be jumpy too with a blade or four if it meant getting to live in peace.

The people who come into her lives and the people who’ve been there for years were both interesting sets of groups. I really enjoyed the little town she called home and I enjoyed despising the people who had, would and were using her as a pawn. Sick and tired of all the games, she continuously took a stand against it, but eventually, she caved.

New York Red Bulls mls oh well sacha kljestan ny red bulls


She’d have to, if we wanted a story.


Our two MCs, Laurie and Agent Killmore (I like this more than his first name), weren’t my cup of tea. I can enjoy a bad bitch as much as the next one, but with Laurie… I don’t know if it was the execution, but I like my reads to flow. This story had more argumentive dialogue than steps for the plot, and I couldn’t tell if Laurie was enjoying Agent Killmore’s advancements, so his unasked for kisses and touches were more annoying than enticing for me. Just a lot of excuses had to be put up for this story to flow for me. “Oh, she likes it. She’s just playing hard to get. She just needs persuasion.” There’s only so much of that that I can take before it turns into something exhausting.

The beginning was great and super awesome but it suddenly got really slow once Agent Killmore showed up, and while some characters kept things sweet or embarrassingly hilarious, Agent Killmore always made it… I don’t know. He’d go from WHAM to “Oh, I’m so sorry. God, I suck.”

confused jim carrey the cable guy come again im sorry what

So overall, I think this just maybe wasn’t my cup of tea. To me, it read like they were jerking each other off with the dialogue until they finally did it. Or she admitted, I’m not sure, it was really hard to follow her emotions. It was more exhausting than anything, really. Laurie may be the aggressor in this relationship to be honest, but with all the other things going on, all I can say is that the idea was sound, but the gritty details and language didn’t quite match the molasses pace. I wouldn’t read it again, but the ending left me wanting to know what’ll happen next, so I’ll definitely be checking out the next book.

jimmy fallon fist shake shakes fist shake fist oprah

Happy Reading,

A Little Darling

Leave a Reply

