A Mortal Song, Megan Crewe

megan-crewe-a-mortal-songSora’s life was full of magic — until she discovered it was all a lie.

Heir to Mt. Fuji’s spirit kingdom, Sora yearns to finally take on the sacred kami duties. But just as she confronts her parents to make a plea, a ghostly army invades the mountain. Barely escaping with her life, Sora follows her mother’s last instructions to a heart-wrenching discovery: she is a human changeling, raised as a decoy while her parents’ true daughter remained safe but unaware in modern-day Tokyo. Her powers were only borrowed, never her own.

Now, with the world’s natural cycles falling into chaos and the ghosts plotting an even more deadly assault, it falls on her to train the unprepared kami princess.

As Sora struggles with her emerging human weaknesses and the draw of an unanticipated ally with secrets of his own, she vows to keep fighting for her loved ones and the world they once protected. But for one mortal girl to make a difference in this desperate war between the spirits, she may have to give up the only home she’s ever known.


Genre: Young Adult Fantasy
Title: A Mortal Song
Author: Megan Crewe
Publisher: Another World Press

Source: Amazon
Pages: 382
Date: 7.26.16
Rating: 4/5

Goodreads
Amazon

Dear Reader,

This book was on sale being advertised as something similar to anime. Of course that, with the pretty cover, sold me. I just finished it, and I’m left content. I had my reserves with the thing while reading, but the heart of it made it all worth it. If I took the expectation of ‘anime’ out of the book, it read like a regular YA novel with fantastic adventures and Japanese myths that you don’t get to see a lot.

Everything was great, but for some reason, I felt like something was missing. Maybe it’s because I was a little disappointed that it read more like an anime’s plot line than actually feeling like an anime (I’ve got books to compare it to after all) and a few characters were a little bland or just not deep enough, but I think part of it had to do with the pacing of the story. And I don’t mean the characters were underdeveloped, just… I’m not too sure. The same thing goes for the kingdom. I think what I’m really getting at is that despite how well put together it seemed, I feel like more could’ve been put to make it seem as important as I took it to be. The kingdom’s a major priority for Sora, but it’s more like a background poster for me. The same with the characters and other people. I’ll just say I felt more for Midori than the other characters and leave it at that. Otherwise, I still enjoyed myself.

I absolutely adored Sora’s journey of self-discovery. I don’t always really get much character developments, but with this one, I more than noticed it. And I think that’s partially why I just couldn’t stop hurting every time she was dealt with another heavy blow. The story was sweet, exciting and really made you feel good. It’s a definite recommend.

Happy Reading,

A Little Darling

Leave a Reply

