Trapped in Wonderland by Dani Hoots

trappedinwonderlandebookcover-compressedMeredith Alice Hughes has found herself falling through a portal and into Wonderland. There, she finds some of her classmates, who are actually fictional characters from Lewis Carroll’s “Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland”, and they use a potion to make her forget everything. Everything would have been fine, that is, until the White Rabbit tries to murder her and she finds herself in Wonderland once more.

Apparently, according to a prophecy, Alice is the only one who can save Wonderland from the Cirque de Reves, a group that is trying to destroy and takeover the world. Little does Alice know that not only is Wonderland in danger, but her home world as well, because all the citizens in Wonderland represent the dreams of every living human in the real world, and when they start to disappear, so does the hope of every living thing. Will Alice believe in herself enough to defeat the Cirque de Reves?

Or will she fall victim to the dark thoughts that reside in her heart?


Genre: Young Adult Fantasy
Title: Trapped in Wonderland
Series: Wonderland Chronicles #1
Author: Dani Hoots

Source: Dani Hoots
Date: 2.1.17
Pages: 292
Rating: 3/5

add-to-goodreads-button

Amazon
US | UK
B&N

READ THE FIRST CHAPTER


About the Author


carlin-ma-3055-l-wm-resized-for-internetDani Hoots is a science fiction, fantasy, romance, and young adult author who loves anything with a story. She has a B.S. in Anthropology, a Masters of Urban and Environmental Planning, and is currently in the Your Novel Year Program through Arizona State University.

Currently she is working on a YA urban fantasy series called Daughter of Hades, a historic fantasy vampire series called A World of Vampires, and a YA sci-fi series called Sanshilian Series.

Her hobbies include reading, watching anime, cooking, studying different languages, wire walking, tinkering with her violin and concertina, and volunteering at the library.

She lives in Seattle with her husband and two cats.

Check her out:
Website | Confessions of a Geekess | Amazon

Dear Reader,

I’m a huge fan of Alice in Wonderland, so when I read the synopsis for this book, I just had to be a part of the review tour with Hoots. After finishing the ARC, I’ve got some mixed feelings to share.

So I’m going to be blunt. I didn’t like this as much as I thought I would. There were errors in the copy that I could only hope were caught before the final finish, the dialogue needed work, and the chapters needed some trimming. As a reader, these things really set the way I took the story in. While the edit errors didn’t effect my rating, everything else did. The writing style was a bit slow for me, and felt more like Alice was talking to herself, which is a whole other type of POV that just made things longer for me. I really liked the idea of the boys she followed into the locker and the evil circus, but the chapters that got me to and through it were sometimes hard to devour.

You have to know, there were moments when Alice was really funny and the moments just worked, but the rest of the story left me wanting. It finished quite well with an ending that made me smile and wish this was an anime, but wait- it is. Now I don’t compare ideas and give low ratings just because I’ve seen it before, but I really did feel like I was either fawning over the creativity or wondering if the author had also watched/read this anime/manga. It doesn’t help that the vial she drinks from in the first few pages reminded me of an anime that did an adaptation of Alice in the Kingdom of Hearts. So as a reader, I can appreciate a good story, but as a person, it’s really hard to enjoy something that reminds me of other works and adaptations.

So overall, I thought it was a good idea that needed more polishing.

I don’t think I’d read the next installment unless I knew where the story was headed, but if you don’t mind being adventurous in checking out a new author and love all things Wonderland, check it out.

Happy Reading,

A Little Darling

Leave a Reply

