Hisses & Honey by Shannon Mayer

Shannon Mayer- 2;c Hisses and Honey

Humble baker turned supernatural Alena Budrene is lovely and lethal, and for the first time, she’s owning it.

Finally rid of her low-life ex-husband, she’s free to date sexy vampire mob boss Remo, who respects her as both a Supe and a woman. She’s on good terms with her difficult mother, and she’s growing comfortable with her powers.

But just when it seems things are falling into place for Alena, Hera strikes again: the Aegrus virus rages across Seattle, threatening the life of everyone in its path — including Remo, infected by Hades. The only way to stop the carnage is to face Hera and her army in a no-prisoners battle to determine the fate of the human race — and Alena’s future.

In a sweeping voyage from the Seattle bar scene to a netherworld populated by murderous gods and monsters, Alena confronts one adversary after another on a quest to set the world right for both humans and Supes and demonstrates her power- to the gods and to herself -once and for all.


Genre: Paranormal & Urban
Title: Hisses and Honey
Series: The Venom Trilogy #3
Author: Shannon Mayer
Publisher: 47North

Source: NetGalley
Pages: 258
Date: 3.7.17
Rating: 5/5

add-to-goodreads-button
Amazon
US | UK | CA | AU | DE
B&N

Dear Reader,

I totally loved this and you need to read it. When I first started the trilogy, I was on the fence about it. The heroine was raised to be seen and not heard, raised in a religious community that despised all things different and weird. Not exactly the first impression you want of someone, you know? But she was super sweet and right off the bat, you know she’s a genuine soul, so I gave it a shot. By the end, it was pretty good, but it had its negative moments for me. By the end of the second book, I was a little more intrigued with the way she grew into her own but again, I had my reservations due to small pet peeves. But still, I was interested enough to finish the trilogy.

By the time I got to the first page, it all hit me. How much she’d changed and grown into a strong woman. It always amazes me to suddenly realize just how different the characters are, from when you first meet them to when it’s time to say goodbye. So good.

A few things didn’t change for me when it came to the other characters and scenes, but Alena loves them all, and that’s good enough for me. The writing was great as usual, nothing short of what I expected Mayer to do. She’s a great story-teller who knows how to slowly build things up while maintaining a nice pace of action and suspense. I totally cried reading it, and laughed out loud with some of the sweeter faces. The climax was a little cheesy for me but I thought it was also perfect for Alena and the life she’ll be living, so I don’t have a problem with it. An overall fantastic read with a fun take on the Greek pantheon and Dystopian world that I highly recommend you check out, especially you Rylee Adamson fans.

If you’ve never read Mayer, you better start.

Happy Reading,

A Little Darling

Leave a Reply

