Half-Blood Dragon by K.N. Lee

KN Lee- 1;a Half-Blood Dragon

Pirates, dragons, mermaids. Embark on a coming of age journey that will leave you breathless.

A lady-in-waiting’s job is to follow orders. For Rowen, it is to execute her stepfather’s plan to elevate the family’s station by an advantageous marriage to the crown prince. Intrigue and seduction fill Rowen’s days, but the prophecies that haunt her dreams at night warn her that death awaits.

The taunts of her sleepless nights are realized when she is framed and sentenced to death for the prince’s murder.

For a human, there’s nowhere to run and no one to turn to in a kingdom where power is tightly held by full-blooded dragon shifters.

It will take a stranger from the shadows to save Rowen from execution and reveal a truth full of terrifying potential. It is time for Rowen to find the courage to accept her fate, awaken her gift, and set the world on fire.

Change is coming. So is a new prophecy that threatens the fate of the entire world.


Genre: YA Fantasy
Title: Half-Blood Dragon
Series: Dragon Born Trilogy #1
Author: K.N. Lee
Publisher: Patchwork Press

Source: K.N. Lee
Pages: 200
Date: 1.14.17
Rating: 4/5

add-to-goodreads-button

Amazon
US | UK | CA | AU | DE

Dear Reader,

I could totally get behind a plot like this, but it was a little short for me. Though it’s 200 pages, the synopsis pretty much says what happens. Nothing more, nothing less. Rowen’s also a new kind of character for me. I’ve come across my fair share of females that weren’t exactly pure of heart, so I could appreciate her manipulative personality to assure that she has a good life. It was different. Still, she’s not my kind of endearing persona so I relied on the rest of the story to make the reading experience better. When it didn’t, I was left a little wanting. It’s not to say that there was anything wrong with it, it just felt like an introduction to a good series instead of the first installment. A lot of things were promised and teased, but it was rarely delivered. If it wasn’t for the fact that the big picture and world are amazing, I’d probably rate it a little lower. Will I be checking the series out? I already bought the second book, so that’s a yes.

Like I said earlier, I really love the idea and the world that’s built up, so while this one didn’t exactly do it for me, I think the second one will at least add to what I’m already digging.

Happy Reading,

A Little Darling

Leave a Reply

