Dark Heirloom by J.D. Brown

j-d-brown-1a-dark-heirloom“You’re a vampire” is so not what Ema Marx wants to hear when she wakes from a two-day coma in a cryptic yet exquisite castle in northern Finland.

Unfortunately, it explains a lot. Like why she’s able to see in the dark and walk through solid objects. What she doesn’t understand is why the other vampires expect her to have all the answers. It’s their fault she turned into one of them… right?

Jalmari’s hatred for his old-man intensifies when he’s ordered to bring that troublesome girl to their castle. He has a clan to run; there’s no time for babysitting newborn vampires no matter how they were converted to their culture. But when a two-thousand-year-old premonition threatens to take the crown and his life, Jalmari sees no other choice than to take out the catalyst, Ema Marx.

Fortunately for Ema, she could also be the clan’s only savior. The race to figure out her vampiric origins is on. And maybe she’ll get the hang of the blood-drinking gig along the way.


Genre: Dark Fantasy
Title: Dark Heirloom
Series: Ema Marx #1
Author: J.D. Brown
Publisher: NightMare Publishing

Source: InstaFreebie
Pages: 324
Date: 7.25.15
Rating: 4/5

add-to-goodreads-button
Amazon

Dear Reader,

 This one wasn’t so bad! It wasn’t fan-freaking-tastic (though it came close), but it had a lot going for itself. For one thing, it had that really good vibe the rest of the popular books have, so it wasn’t hard to get into. Ema basically gets kidnapped and put in an isolated castle. Two hot brothers, one taken, one not, both even more irresistible for it. Honestly, the way it started was bloody brilliant, because it hasn’t been used too much in any other book and because it was just… surprising lol. I wasn’t expecting a lot of things to happen, and I think that’s what made this book so amazing for me.

So why wasn’t it as great as I’m making it out to be? Well, for personal reasons, I just couldn’t get Ema. I don’t know what it is or if it was an off day, but her personality of needing to challenge every. single. thing in her way was taxing. It would’ve been annoying if she weren’t in such an awkward situation of being forced to stay in a dark fantasy world of pretty faces and tortured souls. Not to mention that half the time, someone’s calling for her head.

The pacing was also a little weird for me. Not the writing bit, because that was really good, but the pacing for the characters. I’m not sure if it was my frustration towards Ema that made it feel this way, but I didn’t really get to ‘get’ in depth with any of them, which is kinda sucky considering everything that goes down. The crone was cool, though. I liked her.

So really, everything but my less than stellar reaction towards Ema was great. I’m reading the second book right now and since I’ve had time to forget about how annoying she was for me, it’s a new slate and I don’t know if it was the time that’s changed me or what, but I’m seriously digging her sarcastic personality.

Freaking love this bitch right now.

Happy Reading,

A Little Darling

Leave a Reply

