The Undying by Ethan Reid

Ethan Reid- 1;a The Undying

They have come from the stars…

In this riveting apocalyptic thriller for fans of The Passage and The Walking Dead, a mysterious event plunges Paris into darkness and a young American must lead her friends to safety — and escape the ravenous “undying” who now roam the crumbling city.

Jeanie and Ben arrive in Paris just in time for a festive New Year’s Eve celebration with local friends. They eat and drink and carry on until suddenly, at midnight, all the lights go out. Everywhere they look, buildings and streets are dark, as though the legendary Parisian revelry has somehow short circuited the entire city.

By the next morning, all hell has broken loose. Fireballs rain down from the sky, the temperatures are rising, and people run screaming through the streets. Whatever has happened in Paris- rumors are of a comet striking the earth -Jeanie and Ben have no way of knowing how far it has spread, or how much worse it will get. As they attempt to flee the burning Latin Quarter- a harrowing journey that takes them across the city, descending deep into the catacombs, and eventually to a makeshift barracks at the Louvre Museum -Jeanie knows the worst is yet to come. So far, only she has witnessed pale, vampiric survivors who seem to exert a powerful hold on her whenever she catches them in her sights.

These cunning, ravenous beings will come to be known as les moribund– the undying -and their numbers increase by the hour. When fate places a newborn boy in her care, Jeanie will stop at nothing to keep the infant safe and get out of Paris — even if it means facing off against the moribund and leaving Ben- and any hope of rescue -behind.


Genre: Dystopian
Title: The Undying
Series: The Undying #1
Author: Ethan Reid
Publisher: Simon & Schuster/Simon 451

Source: NetGalley
Pages: 312
Date: 10.7.14
Rating: 4.5/5

add-to-goodreads-button

Amazon
US | UK | CA | AU | DE

Dear Reader,

This was an intense read that was a little boring on one hand, but on the other, totally blew my mind with what was built up. Jeanie and her best friend, Ben go to Paris to visit their friends from the exchange program back home. It’s supposed to be a New Year for everyone after all the loss they took, but instead of champagne and good wine, the City of Lights plunges into darkness. Chaos and the obvious lack of humanity start the new year, but it’s not just people going bat shit crazy that scares Jeanie. It’s the pale, inhuman beings that nobody else seems to notice until it’s too late.

I’ve never been to Paris, but I thought the author did an excellent job in putting me as the reader in this post-apocalyptic city. All the characters were pretty basic, with Jeanie and Ben getting most of the character build-up. Ben was the most complex for me. Jeanie was admirable with her dedication to get from A to B, as well as her ability to forgive in a world of mistrust and selfishness, but Ben totally takes the cake with the complexity. I despised him, felt bad for him, liked it. It was a roller coaster for me. Usually I just write off characters that piss me off but Jeanie convinced me time and time again that not everyone can hold their shit together in a world gone to hell. And that’s one of the other things the author did excellent int: showing me how everyone reacts differently when faced with adversaries.

Now I have’t read The Passage, which is what people are comparing this book to, but I have seen The Walking Dead. The suspense is pretty similar, but comparing a single book to a series that’s had episodes to build all their characters is stretching it for me. So despite this story being a little boring for me because they’re really just trying not to die in a now fucked up world, the characters and world build up were amazing enough to get high ratings from myself. I even want to know what’ll happen next, if only to see how the author continued to expand his world of monsters. It’s a definite recommend for those who love Dystopian, monstrous stories with action and suspense. I liked it enough to seriously consider getting it right now even though I have other books to read. So, think about it.

Happy Reading,

A Little Darling

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s