Alice: The Wanderland Chronicles, J.M. Sullivan

J.M. Sullivan- 1;a Alice

“Always protect your queen.”

Ever since the outbreak of the Plague, life hasn’t been easy, and for seventeen-year-old Alice Carroll, it just got worse. Her sister, Dinah, has contracted the ‘un-deadly’ Momerath Virus and without a cure, will soon be worse than dead. She’ll be momerath.

Alice must leave the safety of the Sector and venture into Momerath Territory to find the antidote — if it exists. Chasing a rumor about a mysterious doctor with the cure, Alice falls down the rabbit hole into Wanderland, where ravenous momerath aren’t the only danger lurking.


Genre: YA Fantasy
Title: Alice
Series: The Wanderland Chronicles #1
Author: J.M. Sullivan
Publisher: Pen Name Publishing

Source: NetGalley
Pages: 360
Date: 5.16.17
Rating: 3.5/5

add-to-goodreads-button

Amazon

Dear Reader,

I love Alice in Wonderland and enjoy retellings, so when I saw this on NetGalley, I knew I had to try it out! Now I don’t regret reading it, but I am sad to say that I didn’t mesh well with it. The beginning had a great hook, but once Alice left her home for a cure to her sister’s sickness, things began to change for me. The writing got longer, and it rubbed me the wrong way only because things were getting more intense, were picking up the pace, and instead of the writing flowing in my head, it just got more detailed and slowed things down for me. It basically made me feel like things were dragging despite the story already reaching its first climax.

Commends for the scenes that really made me stop to appreciate what just happened. A few other scenes were maybe too far out but the ones that made me go ‘wow’ definitely helped in my impression with the book. I usually like this kind of fantasy read, but I think my main issue with not getting along with it was that the writing flow wasn’t there. It wasn’t bad, and I hate critiquing styles, but honestly? The writing made everyone sound mature one minute and youthfully psychotic the next. It just read off like different styles of writing, rather than one strong one that got straight to the point. It didn’t help that I kept comparing the original work with the retelling. If I think of it as a retelling, then it’s not bad, but as a book on its own?

Some questions popped up for me while reading, but overall, I’m just gonna go with ‘not for me’.

Happy Reading,

A Little Darling

Leave a Reply

