Blood Rose, Danielle Rose

BR cover

There’s no wrath like that of a witch scorned.

As one of the only spirit users in her coven, Avah has been chosen to wield The Power, the ultimate weapon against the immortal vampire species witches have been at war with for centuries.

But on the night of her birth rite, Avah’s coven is attacked. Forced to seek refuge among the very beings she’s sworn to kill, Avah vows revenge on those who took her former life from her.

As Avah slowly transitions into a life of blood and war, she realizes everything she’s been told is a lie.


Genre: NA Fantasy
Title: Blood Rose
Series: Blood #1
Author: Danielle Rose
Publisher: Oftomes Publishing

Source: Lady Amber’s PR
Pages: 334
Date: 6.21.17
Rating: 3.5/5

add-to-goodreads-button

Amazon
US | UK | CA | AU | DE

Dear Reader,

The cover and blurb make this story look like a major must-read, right? And to an extent, it was pretty good. It had a lot of promise, for sure. A witch who chooses to live as a vampire rather than die as another witch murdered by the Rogues? Totally cool. However, whether it was because of the writing style or because I just wasn’t one of the people the book was targeting, I couldn’t get into it.

Personally, there were a lot of things I couldn’t click with. The main character, for one thing. I don’t mind complicated MCs so long as they grow out of their attitudes and become better for it, and I’m not saying she doesn’t grow in here, but for some reason, I just could not get into her POV. I didn’t take to her, so the whole time, it was like a battle of putting my eyes back on the page. I’m pretty sure part of the reason was because of how racist she was towards the vampires, but you can’t really blame her, because she’s only repeating what she’s been taught. She moves past it as she spends time with them, and that I totally appreciated. But her whole journey just seemed awkward for me, though not as awkward as the romance, and that’s another reason I couldn’t click with the story. The guy’s a sweetheart, okay? So don’t get me wrong. He was sweet and actually kind of like the ‘sane voice’ in the whole group. I just… I don’t know.

This isn’t a review to tell you why you shouldn’t read it. I’m just telling you why I couldn’t get into it, but if you can get past all the things that I couldn’t, I think you’d enjoy this book. It has action, romance (…?), suspense, some drama. Go check out the other reviews and see if you’re down with what they say.

Happy Reading,

A Little Darling

Leave a Reply

