Peter Darling, Austin Chant

peter cover

Ten years ago, Pan left Neverland to grow up, leaving behind his adolescent dreams of boyhood. Growing up, however, has only made him realize how inescapable his identity as a man is.

But when he returns to Neverland, everything has changed: the Lost Boys have become men, and the war games they once played are now real and deadly.

Even more shocking is the attraction Peter never knew he could feel for his old rival, Captain Hook — and the realization that he no longer knows which of them is the real villain.


*** PLEASE NOTE ***
I took a line of the blurb out because I’d forgotten about it and had been blown away by the reveal, and now see it as a major spoiler. If you want to know the whole blurb, just click on the links below. I recommend you not, though, because the reveal really made an impact on me.

Genre: LGBT / Romantic Fantasy
Title: Peter Darling
Author: Austin Chant
Publisher: Less Than Three Press

Source: NetGalley
Pages: 206
Date: 2.13.17
Rating: 6/5

add-to-goodreads-button

Amazon
US | UK | CA | AU | DE

Dear Reader,

This is a definite 6 stars for me.
Not 5 stars, 6.
Six. Stars.

Only one other book’s ever blown my mind and that was done by an author known for her dark but compelling story-telling. Ironically, the stories are similar, but where one was buried deep in reality and the harsh cruelties of man, the other- this one -was built up with old childhood stories and a deeper underline of… well what do you know, more harsh cruelties of man. It was spun in such a weird and special way that it lured me in with the whole Peter Pan story going on, and then WHAM hit me over and over again like a mosquito with all the subtle hints and moments of Pan’s other life before he came to Neverland.

I love people’s take on Neverland itself and only one other author’s done it beautifully, which is probably why I loved this so much, because it’s reminded me of two amazingly talented authors and their own creative versions of things that made me feel intense feels. Like, I swear, reading this thing felt like I was reliving every great thing I’ve ever felt when I picked up a perfect book. And then to add on Chant’s own creative way of telling Pan’s story- I couldn’t deal. Literally could not. I kept smiling and laughing and CRYING in the end. Ugh, I’m already beginning to lose the ability to write coherently. Overall, this is an amazing book. For me personally, it’s reminded me of three fantastic books (I just remembered yet another) and Chant is officially the fourth author to forever be implanted in my brain. I just want to throw this book at everyone and make them read it!

Happy Reading,

A Little Darlin-

Team Coco crying cry conan obrien crying gif GIF

Fuck, I got the feels all over again…

Leave a Reply

