Rose Petal Graves, Olivia Wildenstein

rosecover

Founded two centuries ago by a powerful tribe of Gottwa Indians, Rowan was a quiet town, so quiet that I fled after graduation.

Staying away was the plan, but Mom died suddenly.

Dad said she suffered a stroke after he dug up one of the ancient graves in our backyard, which happens to be the town cemetery.

Creepy, I know.

Creepier still, there was no corpse inside the old coffin, only fresh rose petals.

As we made preparations for Mom’s burial, new people began arriving in Rowan, unnervingly handsome and odd people. I begged them to leave, but they stayed, because their enemies- my ancestors -were beginning to awaken.


Genre: YA Urban & Paranormal
Title: Rose Petal Graves
Series: The Lost Clan #1
Author: Olivia Wildenstein

Source: Amazon
Pages: 369
Date: 5.29.17
Rating: 3.5/5

GOODREADS
Amazon
US | UK | CA | AU | DE | JP
B&N

Dear Reader,

I was surprised by the low ratings because although there were some unlikely actions and reactions done by the characters, I still found myself becoming obsessed with the book. There’s something about the tone that the author set that had me hooked by the first page, and everything else was golden. I loved the uniqueness that came out of the few norms- small towns, fae, hunters -but most of all, I think I was mostly surprised by how much this just screamed forever fave. I can’t explain it! The world in my head was heady with that slightly golden filter, I got the same feels as when I read Sooki’s story (except for the last two books, Jesus). There’s no vampires, but these fae are totally deadly. Now Catori…

She’s a 19-year-old college student who comes back when her mother dies. She stays to help her dad through the loss, but when she finds out this whole new- or should I say old? -myth and legend in her family’s ancestry, it goes from quaint to crazy. Suddenly the people she grew up with are not what they seem, and everything is changing too quickly for her to understand. But she does know one thing. Her mother’s killer is in Rowan. And she wants revenge.

Now despite all the good things I love about this, I sadly had to give it a 3.5 because the story just gave me more questions than I needed, and they didn’t even have anything to do with what was happening, but more with what was going on with the execution. Like, my reading experience kept pausing because I’d always have to pause to wonder about something. That killed the flow, but I loved this thing enough to not have it bother me too much. Honestly, if this wasn’t such an issue, it’d be an easy 6 stars for me. So you know, check it out if the thought of the fae and fae hunters smashing heads in a small town appeal to you. Cat lives in the town morgue. Her family’s kinda—. And the people that come to help or hinder just make it more awesome in my opinion. Read it if you want to know why there are dead-not-dead bodies buried in her backyard.

Happy Reading,

A Little Darling

Leave a Reply

