War of the Dragon, Jessica Drake

war

When Zara and Lessie finally make it back to Elantia, the last thing they expect is to find that nearly all the dragons have gone missing.

Worse, the Zallabarians are cutting a swathe through the country, mowing down the Elantian soldiers as they head straight for the capital. The only chance Zara and Tavarian have at stopping them from destroying Elantia lie in the recovery of the missing dragons.

But finding a horde of dragons that have vanished into thin air is no mean feat, especially when it involves heading straight back into enemy territory. And when Zara stumbles onto a secret regarding the next piece of the dragon heart, she must make a terrible choice between saving all of dragon kind, or saving the world…


Genre: NA Fantasy
Title: War of the Dragon
Series: Dragon Riders of Elantia #4
Author: Jessica Drake
Publisher: Dynamo Press

Source: Jessica Drake
Pages: 240
Date: 10.18.18
Rating: 3.5/5

GOODREADS
Amazon
US | UK | CA | AU

Dear Reader,

It’s now the fourth installment of the series, and I was hoping for something… more, in terms of the plot that centers around Zara and the dragon god. Though things do happen, a lot of it felt like it was secondary details, things that the story needed to gain its depth, but in the process, kept periodically losing me until something amazing came up. I did like the concentration on how gritty and sad the war is with losses from both ends. I thought the author did a good job at writing about that. There were a lot of different things going on; sometimes it lagged, other times I loved it. The new additions to this series moved things along, but I’m starting to lose what connection I did have with everyone. Lessie’s the only constant, but when she’s not present, I begin to question what I love about the current situation and why I’m not getting enough.

I’m terrible with critiquing, so this is really just my personal experience as someone who’s been up and down with books. Zara can go left or right for me; there are times when I don’t agree with the things she does and I don’t always like that. I like it even less when I can’t connect or feel a connection to people I’m supposed to feel emotional about. Her thing with sorry its a spoiler was all I ever wanted, but it just happened way too quickly for me to genuinely enjoy it, so now every time it comes up, I get saddled with that small amount of disappointment that wonders if I’ll ever get over it. Aside from all that, the writing style is pretty good. Pretty lengthy in the sense that it’s a lot of bullet points in Zara’s POV. You know, when the character starts saying what she’s doing and why and how and when. But that’s just me.

I’ve been in a terrible reading slump (yes, I’m still talking about it) so it’s a wonder that I even managed to really enjoy myself in some chapters. And I like the series in general and the world the author has created, something that I hope gets expanded in other ways. It isn’t a shock to say that Lessie is my favorite character in all of this. lol. But in the end, it’s a solid 3-4 star read for me. I love the dragons, I hope the class that defines them comes back stronger, or at least as strong as the bad guys, and overall, it’s a dragon fantasy world that should be read by new readers who enjoy the dragon/rider relationships.

Happy Reading,

A Little Darling

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.